Home Artist News The xx Announces “On Hold” As Lead Single For Third Album

The xx Announces “On Hold” As Lead Single For Third Album


The xx announced “On Hold” as their lead single for their third studio album, I See You.
“On Hold” has a brighter pop sound with the warm back-and-forth singing between Romy and Oliver about letting a lover go. The band’s comeback single also features a sample from Hall & Oate’s “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)“.

The English indie pop band formed in 2005 consisting of Romy Madly Croft (guitar and vocals), Oliver Sim (bass, vocals and keyboard) and Jamie Smith (production, keyboards and percussion). The band produced their first self-titled album in 2009, embarked on their first headlining tour and performed at top North American festivals: Coachella, Sasquatch, Bonnaroo, Lollapalooza and Austin City Limits. Since releasing their second record, Coexist, in 2012 the band has been relatively quiet.

Last year, Jamie Smith, a.k.a. Jamie xx, focused on his personal music projects, and released his debut album In Colour in May 2015. In Colour is a record Smith worked on for over 5 years because he wanted something timeless blending UK garage, house and rave music, which alludes to The xx’s direction for their upcoming album which will be released January 13, 2017.

“After many years, close together, far apart, great highs, deep lows, heartache and healing, we are so happy to let you know we are releasing our 3rd album ‘I See You’ on January 13th 2017.
We realise these are uncertain times and we hope the joy and love we found making the record will find its way out into the world, in however small a way.
Our first single ‘On Hold’ is available now: http://xxe.ht/sisiht

Excited to see you all very soon.”

xx The xx (via Facebook)

Check out their latest single “On Hold” and full track list for their upcoming album below and stay tuned for more new music from The xx!

The xx’s I See You

  1. Dangerous
  2. Say Something Loving
  3. Lips
  4. A Violent Noise
  5. Performance
  6. Replica
  7. Brave For You
  8. On Hold
  9. I Dare You
  10. Test Me


The xx

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube